Back to Basics… And Back to Blogging!

Wow! Have I been neglecting this blog! I haven’t posted anything new in two months. I let the holidays and other projects distract me. Bad blogger! Well, time to make up for lost time.

In coming weeks I plan to ramp up the number and variety of posts on this blog. While I will still be writing on general fitness and training issues, expect to see more posts on diverse topics such as martial arts and self-defense, healthy lifestyles, philosophy, recipes, and more.

And keep in my this blog is for you. If there’s anything you’d like to see covered or any new features you would like to see, let me know.

Training-wise, I’m embarking on a new 4-6 week  regimen. My goal is to increase my overall strength as well as put on a bit of size. I have a small frame and very long limbs, which tends to make me more of an endurance kind of guy. My conditioning is quite good, so I figure I can afford to work on building some muscle. Of course, with my martial arts training, I can’t totally ignore conditioning, but I can safely tone it down a bit for a while.

So what’s my plan of attack? For the next several weeks, I’ll be focusing on the following:

  • Chin-Ups
  • Dips
  • Long Cycle Kettlebell Clean and Jerks (both 1- and 2- handed)
  • Swings

Why these four? For one, they are all extremely effective. Steve Maxwell has written about the impressive results he got from a program of nothing but chins and dips. (They also proved quite effective for Daniel Craig.) Pavel Tsatsouline often refers to the Double KB Clean and Jerk as the ultimate muscle-builder. And kettlebell swings are just an incredible overall exercise.

There’s also the fact I just happen to love all these moves and enjoy doing them. I figure if I really like doing something that’s also really good for me, it’s a win-win situation.

While the four above moves will form the main basis of my training, I will still find time for other activities, such as Hindu push-ups and squats, swimming, sprints, and bag work. Yoga will remain part of my daily routine. It goes without saying my martial arts training will continue.

I look forward to the next few weeks, not only as I tackle a new training regimen, but also because of the new things I plan to discuss on the blog. Stay tuned!

3 responses to “Back to Basics… And Back to Blogging!

  1. Pingback: Monday Training, 2.07.12 | Fit Monkey Hawaii

  2. Pingback: Wednesday Training, 2.08.12 | Fit Monkey Hawaii

  3. Pingback: Time to Revamp Training | Fit Monkey Hawaii

Leave a Reply

