Monday Training, 11.14.11

In the morning I took some time to swing my Kali sticks and do a few quick sets of Hindu Push-Ups and Squats.

In the afternoon, I decided to mix things up a bit and take a break from the workouts I’ve been doing for a few weeks. Inspired by an article by Mike Mahler, I’ve opted to add more 5×5 routines to my regimen. Here’s what Mike had to say about 5x5s programs:

5×5 training is a standard protocol that has been around for many years. It is also an extremely effective way to pack on size and strength. It was a favorite of legendary bodybuilder Reg Park who just happened to be Arnold’s idol.

Here’s what I did:

Warm-Up: Swinging Kali sticks and Hindu Push-Ups and Squats

Circuit 1: Alternate between Jungle Gym Chins and Double Kettlebell Military Presses, 5×5

Circuit 2: Jungle Gym Dips and KB Renegade Rows, 5×5

Circuit 3: Single KB Windmills, 5×5

To finish, I did a sprint/swing circuit:

  • 5 KB Swings, 20-m sprint
  • 10 KB Swings, 20-m sprint
  • 15 KB Swings, 20-m sprint
  • 20 KB Swings, 20-m sprint
  • 25 KB Swings, 20-m sprint
  • 20 KB Swings, 20-m sprint
  • 15 KB Swings, 20-m sprint
  • 10 KB Swings, 20-m sprint
  • 5 KB Swings, 20-m sprint

I cooled-down with a leisurely stroll through the park.

Leave a Reply

