Resetting After a Week Off from Training

I took last week off from any type of training. My wife had a cold, my swim coach had a cold, my kettlebell training partner had a cold, one of my Kali partners had a cold… so inevitably I caught a cold. Well, sort of. I was able to more or less keep sickness at bay (thank you black tea, garlicky pasta, and red wine!), but still spent most of the week feeling far less than 100 percent. Not wanting to get sicker, or to make anyone else sick, I figured it was best to just take it easy for a few days.

In a way, taking a week off worked out well. I’m planning on tweaking the focus of my training by ramping up the conditioning side of things. This will mean some workout sessions will be shorter, but more intense. I want to blast away some pockets of flab while improving my fighting performance, and trust me, being a good fighter requires top conditioning. Think of the saying “Fatigue makes cowards of us all.”

So instead of feeling bad about missing a week of training, I think of this as a chance to reset for new challenges ahead.

Leave a Reply

