Finally! Back to MMA and BJJ Training!

After seven weeks of recovery and rebuilding from a spinal injury,  I finally started training in mixed martial arts and Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu again last Thursday, June 2nd. It was great to be back!

Even though I had still been working-out and participating in Kali, I found there was still a bit of stiffness in my hip when kickboxing and rolling. Nothing too bad, but it was noticeable. Surprisingly, my performance on the ground was better than I anticipated, and I managed to get some tricky submissions on my partner. (Full disclosure: He had been out sick for over two weeks with a nasty cold, so he might not have been at his best.)

When I woke up Friday I felt pretty good, though there was a hint of soreness in my hip. I decided to give myself a little extra time to recuperate and skipped my usual work-outs, opting for a nice long walk with my wife instead.

I look forward to more training tonight, and getting better and better as I continue to heal.

Leave a Reply

