A Month of Rehab & Rebuilding

I haven’t posted for a while, so it’s time for an update.

It’s been a little over a month since I slipped a disc in my back. For the first week or so, I pretty much couldn’t do any real training. I gradually added yoga, chin-ups, swimming, and walking to get myself moving again. Then I started to go to Kali, taking it easy at first while slowly upping the intensity. The next step was to start doing kettlebell Swings along with Hindu Push-Ups and Squats. Finally, a little over a week ago, I upped the kettlebell ante and went back to Clean & Presses and Jerks. I’ve also started doing dips, both on the parallel bars and on the Jungle Gym.

So how’s my back doing? Great! No more aches or pains. This week I look forward to finally returning to my MMA and BJJ training. I’ll have to be careful, not only to avoid re-injuring myself but because my regular training partner has over a month to plot against me!

Considering how serious a slipped disc can be, I feel fortunate to have recovered so fast. I really credit my training regimen, which helps keep me flexible and my back strong. In particular, my kettlebell training helped me build a good posterior chain, which I believe helped me heal quickly. The Eischens Yoga sequence I learned at Monkey Bar Gym was also essential, as it is geared to help rebuild the body and prevent injury.

This whole experience also highlights part of the Fit Monkey Hawaii philosophy: Training shouldn’t be about “destroying” people… it should be about building them up and healing them.

One response to “A Month of Rehab & Rebuilding

  1. Pingback: Finally! Back to MMA and BJJ Training! | Fit Monkey Hawaii

Leave a Reply

