The First Fit Monkey Challenge!

Generally, I like to have a lot of variety in my workouts, never really repeating the same workout in a given week. But sometimes it can be good to really commit yourself to a specific training protocol just to mix things up a bit. So with that in mind my friend Travis and I decided to create a special Fit Monkey Hawaii 30 Day Challenge.

Inspired by Lisa Shaffer, part of the challenge involved completing 10,000 kettlebell Swings in 30 days.  But we wanted to add something else. Since we regularly do Hindu Push-Ups and Squats as part of our warm-ups, we figured, why not add those to the challenge? We set a goal of completing 3000 Hindu Push-Ups and 6000 Hindu Squats within 30 days as well.

What do I expect will be the results of this challenge? Here’s what I’m hoping for:

  • Continued changes to our overall body composition.
  • Increased endurance.
  • Strength gains.
  • Improved athletic performance, especially in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu.

We kicked-off the Fit Monkey Hawaii 30 Day Challenge on April 13th. There will be regular updates as to how it’s going. Stay tuned!

3 responses to “The First Fit Monkey Challenge!

  1. Pingback: Wednesday Training, 4.13.11 | Fit Monkey Hawaii

  2. Started my 10000 swing journey three days ago as well. Originally I was planning on adding 3000 pushups and some pullups for the month, but already see that that’s not going to happen. I’ll throw them in when I can, but I’m pretty sore. 1000 swings into it so far- just plugging along with my 335 a day. Good luck with your journey!

  3. Pingback: Lessons from an Interrupted Experiment | Fit Monkey Hawaii

Leave a Reply

